Pictorial Rachmaninoff

The Russian composer Sergei Rachmaninoff suffered extensively from political events twice in his life; first the 1917 Revolution caused him and his family to flee his country; and secondly, due to the expanding power of the government of National Socialism in Germany during World War II he had to discontinue visiting his villa in Lucerne, Switzerland. He also experienced a severe boycott of his music in Russia in 1931 after he criticized the cultural policies of the Soviet Union in the New York Times and as a result of the backlash in the Soviet press. Pianists Vorarat Wattanasombat and Eri Nakagawa, an alumnus and faculty member of the College of Music, Mahidol University, hope to bring the beauty and artistry of Rachmaninoff’s composition and arrangement to the audience. The program includes The Sleeping Beauty Suite for piano four hands, originally composed by Tchaikovsky for ballet, and two Suites Op. 5 and Op. 17 for two pianos.

Date: June 29, 2022, 19:00

Venue: PC807

Performed by Vorarat Wattanasombat and Eri Nakagawa

The Sleeping Beauty Suite by Tchaikovsky/Rachmaninoff
Suite No. 1 in G minor, Op. 5 “Fantaisie-tableaux” by Rachmaninoff
Suite No. 2, Op. 17 by Rachmanin

Free Admission