*The College of Music, Mahidol University has been reviewed according to the MusiQuE standards in 2020

The Flying Dutchman

Date(s) - 18/05/2018 - 19/05/2018

Prince Mahidol Hall

Dionysis Grammenos วาทยากรรุ่นใหม่ชาวกรีซผู้มีชื่อเสียง จะมาร่วมงานกับ Thailand Phil เป็นครั้งแรก พร้อมด้วย Alexey Stadler นักเชลโล ชาวรัสเซีย นำเสนอผลงานของ Wagner, Elgar และ Piano Quartet No. 1 ของ Brahms ฉบับออร์เคสตร้าตีความโดย Schoenberg


  • 18 พฤษภาคม 2561 / 19.00 น. / มหิดลสิทธาคาร (สนทนาก่อนคอนเสิร์ต 18.15 น.)
  • 19 พฤษภาคม 2561 / 16.00 น. / มหิดลสิทธาคาร (สนทนาก่อนคอนเสิร์ต 15.15 น.)

วาทยกร: Dionysis Grammenos

ศิลปินรับเชิญ: Alexey Stadler, Cello


  • Thai Traditional Music
  • Richard Wagner: Overture “The Flying Dutchman”
  • Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85
  • Johannes Brahms / Arnold Schoenberg: Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25


The “Flying Dutchman” program brings together award winning Russian cellist Alexey Stadler and celebrated young Greek conductor Dionysis Grammenos, who makes his TPO debut in powerful works by Wagner, Elgar and Brahms.

The overture to the opera “The Flying Dutchman” is one of Wagner’s most popular orchestral scores. The title refers to a legendary ghost ship that can never make port and is doomed to sail the oceans forever. Wagner’s music perfectly illustrates the opera’s passion and dramatic setting including sinister ocean waves.

Stadler and Grammenos collaborate with TPO in one of Elgar’s last works, the noble Cello Concerto. The music is both private and poignant – a fitting end to a compositional output filled with late Romantic moods and shades. This brilliant work was underappreciated following its premiere and reborn in the brilliant virtuosity and unique spirit of British cellist Jacqueline du Pré. TPO welcomes the brilliant cellist Alexey Stadler who at only age 26 has performed with the world’s major orchestras.

The symphonic work on the program is unusual: Brahms’s Piano Quartet, Op. 25 orchestrated by Arnold Schoenberg. The 20th century master Schoenberg had a life-long admiration for German’s chief late Romantic. The arrangement of the masterful chamber work is a vigorous and attractive version that does carry Brahms’s message very well into a new medium. The climax is the exciting gypsy rondo finale, which never disappoints in its original and orchestrated versions alike.

บัตรราคา: 1500, 1000, 800, 600, 400 บาท
ส่วนลด 50% สำหรับ เด็ก/นักเรียน/นักศึกษาที่อายุไม่เกิน25ปี (หรือไม่เกินปริญญาตรี)

สำรองที่นั่งได้ที่ เคาน์เตอร์จำหน่ายบัตรหอประชุมมหิดลสิทธาคาร
อีเมล์: mshall@mahidol.ac.th
Thaiticket Major – www.thaiticketmajor.com / Call Center 02-262-3456
เคาน์เตอร์จำหน่ายบัตรหอประชุมมหิดลสิทธาคารในวันแสดง TPO
(วันศุกร์ตั้งแต่เวลา 17.00 น. – 19.00 น. / วันเสาร์ตั้งแต่เวลา 14.00 น. – 16.00 น.)
ตารางรถศาลายาลิงค์ (สถานี BTS บางหว้า-ศาลายา): http://www.music.mahidol.ac.th/salayalink

Loading Map....