*The College of Music, Mahidol University has been reviewed according to the MusiQuE standards in 2020

Berlin Philharmonic Winds

Date(s) - 17/05/2016

Prince Mahidol Hall


The Berlin Philharmonic Winds were formed in order to cultivate the tradition of classical wind music. Prince Mahidol Hall and the Thailand Philharmonic Orchestra are honored to welcome the distinguished musicians from Berlin to perform what is sure to be a can’t miss program featuring works by Mozart and Krommer.

Berlin Philharmonic Winds

The Berlin Philharmonic Winds is an ensemble in the classical combination called “Harmoniemusik“ which consists of 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 French Horns, Bassoons and Double Bass.  Almost all of the members are musicians from the world famous Berliner Philharmoniker.

In the classical period, the wind octet, or the so called “Harmony “, was one of the most common chamber music combinations.  Nearly all of the famous composers wrote pieces for Harmony and it was customary to create arrangements of the great operas for octets.

The Berlin Philharmonic Winds musicians dedicate their time in addition to their work in the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra to this substantial repertoire.  Besides performing concerts in Germany, the ensemble also tours extensively all over Europe and in Japan.

Classical music lovers in Thailand are in for a remarkable treat as The College of Music, Mahidol University welcomes the Berlin Philharmonic Winds to perform their debut concert at the grand Prince Mahidol Hall on May 17 with programs including W.A. Mozart’s Serenade c minor KV 388 for wind Octet , “Cosi fan tutte“ Overture and selected Arias arranged for wind Octet by J.N. Wendt plus F. Krommer’s Octet F Major op.57.   The Berlin Phil Winds members in Bangkok are Christoph Hartmann (Oboe), Andreas Wittmann (Oboe), Walter Seyfarth (Clarinet), Gerti Frank (Clarinet), Andrej Zust (Horn), Fergus McWilliam (Horn), Martin Kuuskmann (Bassoon), Vaclav Vonasek (Bassoon) and Janusz Widzyk (Double Bass).

Concert: 17 May 2016 / 7.00 p.m. / PMH


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: “Cosi fan tutte” Overture and selected Arias
  • Franz Krommer: Octet F Major, Op. 57
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Serenade C minor KV 388 for wind Octet

Tickets Price: 2,500 / 2,000 / 1,800 / 1,500 / 800 Baht
For ticket: please contact www.thaiticketmajor.com or contact 02-849-6565/6, Ext.6603, 6609 or mshall@mahidol.ac.th
Salaya Link shuttle bus available at BTS Bang Wa Station: http://www.music.mahidol.ac.th/salayalink/

** Special Salaya Link shuttle bus service from Prince Mahidol Hall to BTS Bang Wa station 15 minutes after concert  finishes. **

2016 Visiting International Orchestra Promotion

  • All students discount 40%  (Maximum tickets=1)
  • Music Lover Card discount 30% (Maximum tickets=4)
  • Krunthep Turakit/Nation discount 20% with ad cut out (Maximum tickets=4)
  • Bangkok Shimbun discount 20% with ad cut out (Maximum tickets=4)
  • KTC discount 20% (Maximum tickets=4)
  • Rabbit Card discount 20% (Maximum tickets=4)
  • Group tickets of 10 or more is eligible for a 20% discount.

Loading Map....